National Journalism Award to Shrestha


/fli6«o kqsfl/tf k'/:sf/–@)&@ af6 k'/:s[t lszf]/ >]i7, jl/i7 kqsf/ ;Ddfg @)&@ af6 ;Ddflgt 8f ;'/]z cfrfo{, lzj ufpFn] / cf]d zdf{;Fu /fi6«klt ljBfb]jL e08f/L . tl:a/ M /Tg >]i7, /f;; .
Kathmandu, May 6

The government has presented the ‘National Journalism Award-2072’ to Kishor Shrestha, editor of Janasatha, a weekly newspaper.  At a programme organised here on Friday, President Bidya Devi Bhandari honoured editor Shrestha with the Award. President Bhandari also honoured former Presidents of the Federation of Nepali Journalists—Dr Suresh Acharya and Shiva Gaunle and former General Secretary, Om Sharma, with ‘Senior Journalist Award-2072’.
Each award carries a purse of Rs 200,000. The award was presented on the occasion of the first National Journalism Day.
On the occasion, President Bhandari expressed the view that the honour to the journalists by the government should enrich the journalism sector. She also emphasized on effective coordination between the government and the journalism sector.
Similarly, Chief Secretary Somlal Subedi said that role of media is crucial to institutionalize federal democratic republic along with implementation of the new constitution.
Stating that the government was always positive towards the entire media sector, Secretary at the Ministry of Information and Communications, Dinesh Kumar Thapaliya, said that the government was committed for the development and expansion of the media sector. Secretary Thapaliya said that the government of late has carried out significant works like recognizing the media house as the industry, implementing minimum wages of working journalists and formulating online news portal guidelines, among others.
Honoured journalist Dr Acharya lamented that the Nepali journalism was yet to become professional and institutionalized.

प्रकाशित मिति: २५ बैशाख २०७३, शनिबार

प्रतिक्रिया दिनुहोस्